iSpeakEASYblog

Do You Speak The Same Language As Your Audience?

In Business Presentations, Communication, executive coaching, PowerPoint, Public Speaking, sales on September 5, 2013 at 7:53 AM

The man on the other end of the phone was offering to send me fishing lures. Not a single lure, but hundreds or even thousands to use with the learn-to-fish program I manage. I thanked him and explained I was not interested, as we do not use lures in our programs. His offer was good but even for free, it was not anything I could use. He pushed his cause a bit but I would not budge – I simply do not use lures. There was an awkward silence and he suggested I visit his website. Out of boredom or politeness, I typed the URL and was surprised at what I saw.

The “lure” he was offering was not a “lure” as I think of it –it is “bait”. I asked him about his choice of words and he replied it was how he referred to his product.

He was talking about apples and I was hearing oranges.

Instantly my interest in him, his offer, and his product went from zero to one hundred. I have no use for lures, or what I call a lure. I have a high interest and constant need for bait. I like it even better as he is offering me thousands of free samples as of his marketing campaign. Now we have a win-win situation.

I was struck though, at how close to failure we had come simply because we had not agreed on the definition of a term. It was as if we were speaking different languages.

How often are you trying to sell something – a product, service, or an idea – and run into a wall because the language you are speaking, the words you are using, are different from the words understood by your prospect?

Do you use lingo, buzzwords, or acronyms that make sense to you but push your clients away? The words may make perfect sense to you because you are in the business: you use the terms everyday and know what they mean. Do you offer “lures” to clients that want “bait”? Can you identify the buzzwords that motivate your audience?

Take time to practice your presentations – even your phone calls – with someone outside your field. Have them listen to you and then listen to them to see what they heard. It will be a valuable (and profitable) use of your time.

Speaking well is all about addressing the needs of your audience. To address their needs it is important to speak a language they understand.

 

Related articles


iSpeakEASY helps people present information in an exciting and relevant manner. Our clients accomplish more in less time. Visit us at www.iSpeakEASY.net or www.iSpeakEASYblog.wordpress.com. Contact us for information on individual coaching or group workshops.

© 2013 by iSpeakEASY. All Rights Reserved.

  1. […] Do You Speak The Same Language As Your Audience? (ispeakeasyblog.wordpress.com) […]

  2. […] Do You Speak The Same Language As Your Audience? (ispeakeasyblog.wordpress.com) […]

  3. […] Do You Speak The Same Language As Your Audience? […]

  4. […] Do You Speak The Same Language As Your Audience? […]

Leave a comment